RRR - Earth System Application Categories and Application Areas

 

No.

Earth System Application
Category (ESAC)

Application Area (AA)

Point of
Contact (PoC)

Authority
("owner")

1
Space Weather Applications
Coordinator: Larisa Trichtchenko 
larisa.trichtchenko@gmail.com
Owner: INFCOM/SC-ON/ET-SWx
1.1 Sun, Heliosphere and Solar Wind Forecasting and Monitoring
Nicole Vilmer
nicole.vilmer@obspm.fr
INFCOM/SC-ON/ET-SWx
Contact: 
larisa.trichtchenko@gmail.com

 

1.2 Energetic Particle and Magnetosphere Forecasting and Monitoring
Sergio Dasso
sergio.dasso@gmail.com
INFCOM/SC-ON/ET-SWx 
Contact: 
larisa.trichtchenko@gmail.com
1.3 Ionosphere, Thermosphere and Geomagnetic Field Forecasting and Monitoring
Kirsti Kauristie (temporary)
Kirsti.Kauristie@fmi.fi
INFCOM/SC-ON/ET-SWx 
Contact: 
larisa.trichtchenko@gmail.com
2
Atmospheric Applications
Coordinator: Erik Andersson
erik.andersson@ecmwf.int
Owner: ET-EOSDE in collaboration with INFCOM/SC-WIPPS and with RB
2.1 Global NWP and Real-time Monitoring
Kozo Okamoto
kokamoto@mri-jma.go.jp
ET-EOSDE in collab. w/ INFCOM/SC-WIPPS 
Contact: 
erik.andersson@ecmwf.int
2.2 High-Resolution NWP
Magnus Lindskog
magnus.lindskog@smhi.se
ET-EOSDE in collab. w/ INFCOM/SC-WIPPS
Contact: 
erik.andersson@ecmwf.int
2.3 Nowcasting / Very Short Range Forecasting (VSRF)
Aitor Atencia Ruiz de Gopegui
aitor.atencia@geosphere.at
INFCOM/SC-WIPPS/ET-OWFS
Contact: 
ken.mylne@metoffice.gov.uk
2.4 Sub-Seasonal to Longer Predictions (SSLP)
Jeff Knight
jeff.knight@metoffice.gov.uk
INFCOM/SC-WIPPS/ET-OCPS
Contact:
jeff.knight@metoffice.gov.uk
2.5 Atmospheric Climate Forecasting and Monitoring
Caterina Tassone
ctassone@wmo.int
GCOS/AOPC in collab. w/ INFCOM/SC-WIPPS
Contact: 
peter.thorne@mu.ie
2.6 Atmospheric Composition Forecasting and Monitoring
Richard Eckman
richard.s.eckman@nasa.gov
RB/EPAC SSC/ET-ACNDE
Contact: richard.s.eckman@nasa.gov
2.7 Atmospheric Composition Information Services in Urban and Populated Areas
Richard Eckman
richard.s.eckman@nasa.gov
RB/EPAC SSC/ET-ACNDE
Contact: richard.s.eckman@nasa.gov
2.8 Aeronautical Meteorology
Yui-Fai Lee
yflee@hko.gov.hk
SERCOM/SC-AVI
Contact: 
Ian.Lisk@metoffice.gov.uk
2.9 Agricultural Meteorology
Robert Stefanski
rstefanski@wmo.int
SERCOM/SC-AGR
Contact: 
rstefanski@wmo.int
3
Oceanic Applications
Coordinator: Emma Heslop
e.heslop@unesco.org
Owner: GOOS in collaboration SERCOM/SC-MMO, AG-Ocean to be consulted
3.1 Ocean Mesoscale Forecasting and Real-Time Monitoring
Hao Zuo
hao.zuo@ecmwf.int
OOPC, in collaboration with GOOS/ETOOFS, INFCOM
Contact: 
sabrina.speich@lmd.ipsl.fr
3.2 Coastal Forecasting
Laura Tuomi
laura.tuomi@fmi.fi
SERCOM/SC-MMO
Contact: 
swail@rogers.com
3.3 Oceanic Climate Monitoring and Services
Belén Martín Míguez
bmartinmiguez@wmo.int
OOPC, in collaboration with GCOS, and SERCOM
Contact: 
sabrina.speich@lmd.ipsl.fr
3.4 Tsunami Monitoring and Detection
tbd
IOC/TOWS-WG, SERCOM/SC-MMO
Contact: tbd
3.5 Marine Environmental Emergency Response
Graigory Sutherland
Graigory.Sutherland@ec.gc.ca
SERCOM/SC-MMO
Contact:
oyvindb@met.no
3.6 Maritime Safety (ports to open ocean)
Anish Hebbar
ah@wmu.se
SERCOM/SC-MMO
Contact: 
dpxcarvalho@gmail.com
3.7 Ocean Biogeochemical Cycles Application Area
Maciej Telszweski
m.telszewski@ioccp.org 
GOOS BGC Expert Panel (IOCCP)
Contact: tbd
4
Hydrological & Terrestrial Applications
Coordinator:TBD
Owner: SERCOM/SC-HYD in collaboration with INFCOM/JET-HYDMON
4.1 Hydrological Forecasting and Real-Time Monitoring
Emmanuel Brocard
emmanuel.brocard@bafu.admin.ch
SERCOM/SC-HYD in collab. w/ INFCOM/SC-WIPPS/ET-OHPS,
Contact: 
 
4.2 Hydrological and Terrestrial Climate Monitoring
Antonio Bombelli
abombelli@wmo.int
GCOS/TOPC in collab. w/ GTN-H
Contact: 
herold@gfz-potsdam.de
dietrich@bafg.de 
5
Cryospheric Applications
Coordinator: Jeff Key
jeff.key@noaa.gov
Owner: INFCOM/AG-GCW
5.1 Terrestrial Cryosphere Forecasting and Monitoring
tbd
INFCOM/AG-GCW
Contact: 
jeff.key@noaa.gov
 
5.2 Sea-Ice Forecasting and Monitoring
Jeff Key 
jeff.key@noaa.gov
INFCOM/AG-GCW
Contact: 
jeff.key@noaa.gov
5.3 Cryospheric Climate Monitoring
tbd
INFCOM/AG-GCW in collab. w/ GCOS/TOPC, OOPC
Contact: 
jeff.key@noaa.gov
 
6
Integrated Earth System Applications
Coordinator: David Richardson
david.richardson@ecmwf.int
Owner: INFCOM/SC-WIPPS
6.1 Earth System Forecasting and Monitoring
Vijay Tallapragada
vijay.tallapragada@noaa.gov
INFCOM/SC-WIPPS and RB
Contact: 
david.richardson@ecmwf.int
6.2 Understanding Earth System Processes
tbd
RB/WWRP in collab. w/ WCRP and GCOS
Contact: tbd
 
Explanatory notes:
  • Each Application Area considers its requirements for observations, not only for operational activities but also for the research that will enable its future activities and evolving usage of observations. Application Area “6.2 Understanding Earth System processes” considers the requirements for observations of all WMO research activities not covered in any other Application Area;
  • The list of Application Areas is intended to include all WMO uses of observations where it is practicable to collect observational user requirements with a community of experts behind; it needs to be checked periodically and updated accordingly;
  • The Atmospheric Composition and Agricultural Meteorology application areas, numbered 2.6, 2.7 and 2.9, have some activities which may have an affinity with other Categories. Each application area may consider whether to split into components to belong in different Categories, in the way that Disaster Risk Reduction and Climate Monitoring are split into different Categories;
  • Application area 5.1 “Terrestrial Cryosphere Forecasting and Monitoring” includes snow, glaciers and permafrost, ice caps, glaciers;
  • Application area 5.2 includes glaciers;
  • Application area 6.1 deals with the Integrated Earth System, including all domain interfaces between components of the Integrated Earth System;
  • Earth System Application Categories are intended to provide groupings of Application Areas of similar types which have related disciplines and professional communities. The concept is not directly based on having common geographical domains; it is intended to provide a pragmatic and workable approach that will enable groups of applications with similar needs for observations to collaborate in preparing their joint SoG on priorities for evolving the capabilities of WIGOS observing systems;
  • The Integrated Earth System, in accordance with the WMO Strategic Plan 2020-2023, is considered as an integrated system of atmosphere, ocean, cryosphere, hydrosphere, biosphere and geosphere;
  • An Application Area can belong to only one Category. If an application has two or more components that are so different from each other that they are best located in different Categories, and cannot be considered collectively as an Integrated Earth System Application, then they must have distinct names. Examples of this are provided by the components of Disaster Risk Reduction and Climate Monitoring;
  • In any case, the relevant applications community should lead the management of their Application Area/s (creation, naming, deletion);
  • The “Ownership” of each Application Area is important because the owner has authority and responsibility to create, name, delete and nominate their PoC, for the specification of observation requirements, and for contributions to the Statement of Guidance (SoG);