WWRP Scientific Steering Committee

Scientific Steering Committee Members

  • Chair: Chris DAVIS, NCAR
  • Irasema ALCÁNTARA-AYALA, National Autonomous University of Mexico
  • Shipra JAIN, Meteorological Services Singapore
  • Shiguang MIAO, Institute of Urban Meteorology, CMA
  • Daryl KLEIST, NOAA
  • Maria-Helena RAMOS, INRAE
  • Atul Kumar SAHAI, Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology
  • Siham SBII, Morocco Met Service
  • Coleen VOGEL, University of Witwatersrand

Terms of References

a) To provide scientific guidance for the WWRP including making appropriate comments and recommendations on major project activities;
b) To develop a strategic science and implementation plan for the WWRP and a work programme aligned with the WMO Strategic Planning Process;
c) To review and assess the development of all elements of the WWRP, including FDPs, RDPs and evaluation methods, to formulate recommendations to guide further actions and to report on the progress of the programme to the president of the Research Board;
d) To facilitate, coordinate and prioritize weather research and development activities, which are planned and implemented through the project committees and working groups, to meet the objectives of the Research Board;
e) To facilitate the exchange of information among scientists participating in the programme and relevant scientific institutions and agencies, at the national and international levels;
f) To collaborate, as appropriate, with Infrastructure and Services Technical Commissions, Regional Associations and other relevant groups of the World Climate Research Programme (WCRP) and the Global Atmosphere Watch (GAW), committees, academia, and other partners; and
g) To delegate to each working group and expert team, as required, the responsibility to promote the timely exchange of information, data and new knowledge through publications, workshops and meetings.

WWRP SSC Reports