National Focal Points for Global Cryosphere Watch


Gombo DAVAA - Focal point- ( Mongolia )
Dr Charles FIERZ - Focal point- ( Switzerland )
Dr Christian ZAMMIT - Focal point- ( New Zealand )
Dr Christophe GENTHON - Focal Point - second- ( France )
Dr Jiankai WANG - Focal point- ( China )
Dr Ketil Isaksen - Focal point- ( Norway )
Dr MACELLONI, Giovanni - Focal point- ( Italy )
Dr Michele CITTERIO - Focal point- ( Denmark )
Dr Pavlos KALABOKAS - Focal point- ( Greece )
Dr Petra HEIL - Focal point- ( Australia )
Dr Samuel BUISÁN - Focal Point - second- ( Spain )
Michelle Stalder - Focal point- ( Switzerland )
Mr Melesse LEMMA - Focal point- ( Ethiopia )
Mr Tómas JÓHANNESSON - Focal Point - second- ( Iceland )
Ms Anne Elizabeth Walker - Focal point- ( Canada )
Ms Chalalai JAMPHON - Focal point- ( Thailand )
Ms Marie Dumont - Focal point- ( France )
Prof. Hugues LANTUIT - Focal point- ( Germany )
Prof. Wolfgang SCHÖNER - Focal point- ( Austria )

Documents and Publications

Related News

No related news found.

Related Meetings

No related meetings found.

Terms of Reference

GCW National Focal Points (GCW-NFP) are formally nominated by the Members’ Permanent Representatives with WMO. Members may nominate one or more contacts, representing different communities of interest, e.g. the Member’s national meteorological and hydrological service (NMHS) or other institutions with operational and/or research responsibilities for the cryosphere. The focal point(s) will have the following responsibilities:
1. Serve as the national contact(s) for, and contribute to, the activities of GCW locally, nationally, regionally and globally.
2. Promote the registration of cryosphere observations in OSCAR/Surface and the development of interoperable interfaces between existing data sources (e.g. national institutions operating such observations) and the GCW Data Portal, and in connection with the relevant National Focal Points (e.g. OSCAR, WIGOS, etc)
3. Foster the dissemination of relevant guidance, recommendations, and other GCW materials;
4. Engage national representatives of international organizations (e.g. International Arctic Science Committee (IASC) Cryosphere Working Group, International Association for Cryospheric Sciences (IACS), International Permafrost Association (IPA), Scientific Committee for Antarctic Research (SCAR), World Glacier Monitoring Service (WGMS)), in furthering GCW nationally and regionally.
5. Report to GCW-AG on an annual basis on national and regional cryosphere-related activities, opportunities (e.g. for capacity building, resource mobilization, etc.) issues, needs and gaps and make proposals for additional coordination through GCW.
6. Where possible, establish a GCW national committee, engaging representatives of national and international bodies, to co-ordinate and initiate a national GCW programme.

Related Groups

There are no results.