We are currently migrating content. If you find any issue or want to send feedback let us know in community@wmo.int

SWFP-Eastern Africa

SWFP Regional Sub-programme in Eastern Africa (SWFP-Eastern Africa)

Beneficiary Countries:

7 countries in Eastern Africa: Burundi, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan,  United Republic of Tanzania and Uganda                

Regional Centres:

RSMC-Nairobi (for whole domain)

RFSC-Dar Es Salaam (for Lake Victoria basin)                                            

Contributing Global Centres:


Start of planning & development:

In 2010

Sub-programme websites since 2011:

RSMC Nairobi: http://rsmc.meteo.go.ke/rsmc/login.php

RFSC Dar Es Salaam: www.meteo.go.tz/severe 

Main Focus:

Heavy rain, strong winds, large waves (coastal areas of western Indian Ocean and Lake Victoria), Dry spells

Present Status:

In Phase-III 


Regional Subproject Implementation Plan (RSIP) version May 2013


Mainly Norwegian funds during 2011-2015

Mainly through HIGHWAY-LVB project funds since 2017

SWFP implementation in Eastern Africa

The development of SWFD-Eastern Africa was started as a 'demonstration project' (i.e. as SWFDP-Eastern Africa) in 2010 initially with participation of six countries (namely Burundi, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, United Republic of Tanzania and Uganda) and with support of RSMC Nairobi and RFSC Dar Es Salaam as contributing Regional Centres and UKMO, ECMWF, NOAA/NCEP and DWD as contributing Global Centres. A technical planning workshop on SWFDP development for Eastern Africa was held in Nairobi, Kenya on 4-8 October, 2010. The first meeting of Regional Subproject Management Team (RSMT) was also held in Nairobi, Kenya on 21-24 June, 2011 to review the regional subproject implementation plan (RSIP) including timeline for the demonstration phase of the project.

For development and enhancement of the project website (RSMC Nairobi), two NWP/Web Developers Workshops were organized in Nairobi, Kenya during 9-11 May 2011 and 14-16 March 2012. In 2012, WMO SWFDP Expert Missions were carried out to Rwanda (Kigali, 23-25 April, 2012), Burundi (Bujumbura, 4-5 June, 2012) and Uganda (Entebbe, 7-8 June, 2012) to assess the forecasting capacity and service delivery capacity for developing national implementation plans (IPs).

The demonstration (pilot phase) of the project was started in September 2011 with participation of six countries in the region. In May 2013, South Sudan also joined the subproject which moved to its full demonstration phase with participation of seven countries in the region in September 2013.

SWFDP-Eastern Africa

SWFP training workshops on severe weather forecasting and warning services are also conducted for operational forecasters and public weather services (PWS) staff of the benefiting NMHSs on regular basis. The representatives of users of the host NMHS including especially disaster management offices and media are also invited to attend the SWFP workshops to improve engagement of NMHSs with users and for better delivery of services. So far, SWFP training workshops have been organized in Tanzania (2010 & 2011), Uganda (2012), Burundi (2013), Rwanda (2014), Ethiopia (2015) and Kenya (2019). During recent years, SWFP workshops have also focused on impact-based forecast and warning services (IBFWS).


SWFP-Eastern Africa: Activities & Milestones since 2010


  • Technical Planning Workshop on SWFDP Development for Eastern Africa (Nairobi, Kenya, 4-8 Oct, 2010)
  • Two-week SWFDP-Eastern Africa Training Workshop (GDPFS & PWS) (Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania, 18-29 Oct, 2010)


  • RA I-SWFDP-EA NWP/Web Developers Workshop (Nairobi, Kenya, 9-11 May, 2011).
  • First Meeting of RSMT to develop and review RSIP (Nairobi, Kenya, 21-24 June, 2011)
  • Start of RSMC, Nairobi web portal
  • Start of Demonstration (pilot phase) in September, 2011 involving 6 countries
  • Two-week SWFDP-Eastern Africa Training Workshop (GDPFS & PWS) (Arusha, Tanzania, 21 Nov-2 Dec, 2011)


  • RA I-SWFDP-EA NWP/Web Developers Workshop (Nairobi, Kenya, 14-16 March, 2012).
  • WMO SWFDP Mission to Rwanda (Kigali, 23-25 April, 2012)
  • WMO SWFDP Mission to Burundi  (Bujumbura, 4-5 June, 2012)
  • WMO SWFDP Mission to Uganda  (Entebbe, 7-8 June, 2012)
  • Two-week SWFDP-Eastern Africa Training Workshop (GDPFS & PWS) (Entebbe, Uganda, 19-30 Nov, 2012)


  • South Sudan joined SWFDP-Eastern Africa as a participating country in May, 2013
  • Second Meeting of RSMT  to discuss progress of the project and evaluation of pilot phase, and to review RSIP for SWFDP-EA (Arusha, Tanzania, 27-31 May, 2013)
  • Two-week SWFDP-Eastern Africa Training Workshop (GDPFS & PWS) (Bujumbura, Burundi, 11-22 Nov, 2013)
  • Start of Full Demonstration phase (Field phase) in September, 2013 with involvement of 7 countries including South Sudan


  • SWFDP-Eastern Africa Training Workshop (Kigali, Rwanda, 10-21 November, 2014)


  • SWFDP-Eastern Africa Training Workshop (Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, 16-27 November, 2015)
  • SWFDP-Eastern Africa Training Workshop (Nairobi, Kenya, 29 January-8 February 2019) (funded through HIGHWAY-LVB project)
  • Eighteenth WM Congress (Cg-18, June 2019) through its Resolution 15 (Cg-18) decided among others to remove the 'demonstration' designation of the SWFDP and renamed it as Severe Weather Forecasting programme (SWFP). Subsequently, the SWFDP-Eastern Africa became SWFP-Eastern Africa
  • Virtual Meeting of the Regional Sub-programme Management Team (RSMT) of SWFP-Eastern Africa (held on 11 May 2020) to review the sub-programme progress